The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson ~ Book Review

Annike: Hey Guys, so I’m here today to do a review on a book that has been all over the reading community. Just like so many other people I absolutely loved this book like SO MUCH! And I really just want to share what I thought about it and hear from you guys too. 

Star Rating: 5/5 stars

17838528.jpgAndie had it all planned out. When you are a politician’s daughter who’s pretty much raised yourself, you learn everything can be planned or spun, or both. Especially your future.

But that was before the scandal. Before having to be in the same house with her dad. Before walking an insane number of dogs. That was before Clark and those few months that might change her whole life.

Because here’s the thing—if everything’s planned out, you can never find the unexpected. And where’s the fun in that?

The Unexpected Everything focuses on a girl named Andie, who’s dad takes a break from his political career and begins to be around more and this situation with her fathers career leaves her without a important pre med internship. From this Andie, desperate to get a summer job ends up walking a bunch of dogs for the summer where she also meets Clark who is a writer living in a house in the area. From here, Andie and her friends along with Clark work out the summer and it really follows her journey with these groups of people. 

The book really focuses on relationships between a number of people in Andie’s life. Firstly, family which was just Andie and her father and it was great to see the relationship between these estranged people develop into what was something like a father daughter relationship and Andie’s dad really was a great person by the end of the book. Then there was the relationship between Andie and her three best friends – Toby, Palmer and Bri – and I loved this because they were all such amazing girls who all seemed to compliment each other. It was nice to see a bond between close girl friends in this book rather than just between a boyfriend which is quite common or the situation when the protagonist is lonely. And finally there was the relationship between Clark and Andie which I also loved because Clark seemed the SWEETEST and their relationship was perfect. I really liked Clark as well because he was so nervous at the beginning and it made you instantly fall in love with him 🙂 The first date didn’t go well which I was glad about because that meant it wasn’t an unrealistic insta-love.

I really liked how modern the book was an being written in 2016 it involved a lot of common day themes. For example, I loved the texting between Andie, her friends, Clark and her dad and the use of emoji’s from Toby was super creative. The dialogue in this book was absolutely perfect. Morgan Matson was able to evoke every emotion through it and it was not cheesy at all but very realistic. The book was funny and light hearted but there were also problems in all the relationships which was so real and raw. I really liked the relationship between Clark and Palmer’s boyfriend – Tom. I’m not sure how I feel about the ending, it was a sad and definitely not what I had expected but I think it was well planned out though I won’t give it away for all you who have not read it.

“Every day. Even now I’m always thinking about what I want to tell her. stuff she’d find funny. It was like someone had turned off the sun. The center of everything was suddenly gone.”

Overall, I absolutely adored this book, it’s the best book I’ve read in a while and I was never wanting to put it down! Going in I wasn’t sure if it was going to be good or not but trust me it was amazing and I hope if you haven’t read it you will give it a go.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

