June Read ~ 2016

Annike: Hey guys, so we are back again today to wrap up the month of June in regards to reading and what we have read so far and either loved or didn’t love so much so we’ll start with Zoe’s and then do mine.

Zoe’s Books

 

  1. Book of Lies by Teri Terry – 2 stars (1 day)
  2. Savage Drift by Emmy Laybourne – 4 stars (4 days)
  3. The Crown by Kiera Cass – 4.5 stars (2 days)

Screen Shot 2016-06-30 at 6.32.36 AM.png

I had a really bad reading month this June reading only 3 books. I started the month off really well reading Book of Lies in only 1 day on the train. I didn’t really enjoy the book as much as I was expecting. I thought it was a bit fantastical and strange in parts, and most of the storyline was very confusing. I did like the idea behind the story but didn’t love it as much as I hoped. I read Savage Drift by Emmy laybourne second in the month which ii the last book in the monument 14 series. I was really happy with the way this series ended and was super excited to read it so was very pleased with the outcome. I think that some of the perspectives in the book were a lot more enjoyable than others and I would have liked just a bit more action, but overall really loved the book. The last book I read in June was a present from Annike and was The Crown by Kiera Cass. I had been anxiously awaiting this book and was really happy to finish the selection series. I loved the ending and was really happy with the conclusion of this series. I didn’t get around to reading as many books this month mostly because I wasn’t motivated to pick up a book, but I’m hoping to get to read more in July.

Annike’s Books:

  1. A Step Towards Falling by Cammie McGovern – 3 stars  (5 days)
  2. Shuffle, Repeat by Jen Klein – 4 stars (2 days)
  3. The Yearbook Committee by Sarah Ayoub – 3.5 stars (6 days)
  4. The Last Star by Rick Yancey – 4 stars (4 days)
  5. This is not a Drill by Beck McDowell – 4 stars (2 days)
  6. The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson – 5 stars (4 days)
  7. Broken Sky by L.A Weatherly – 4 stars (5 days)

Screen Shot 2016-06-29 at 12.38.57 PM.png

So this month was quite a good reading month for me. To get to my goal of 100 books this year I need to be reading 8 each month so at the moment I am not hitting this benchmark but there is still hope! I really enjoyed a lot of the books I read this month, my favourite being The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson which was my only 5 star read and I hope to have a review up on this one in the coming week. I loved how it focused on many different relationships to give a really realistic and relatable theme. My 4 star books include The Last Star by Rick Yancey which I was quite disappointed about considering the quality of the first two books, This is not a Drill by Beck McDowell which I really enjoyed but would have enjoyed more depth and Broken Sky by L.A Weatherly, a book that Zoe got for me for my birthday earlier this month and really loved despite some confusing scenes. Then there was A Step Towards Falling by Cammie McGovern and Shuffle Repeat by Jen Klein and although they did get different ratings they were so similar that it was actually crazy! When I say similar I mean that I found a lot of the characters were the exact same in both books and it was really interesting to compare them but they both had unique and interesting plots. And finally there was The Yearbook Committee was good but could have done with some more intensity and action, Zoe is currently reading this so we’ll hope to have another review up on that one.

Zoe: Thanks for reading guys, we’ll be back with a TBR for July in a couple days and if you like the sound of any of the books we read this month pick them up and give them a try! Bye x

2 comments

Leave a Reply

