2016 Favourites

Zoe: Hey guys, its Annike and I here today and seeing as it is nearly halfway through the year we decided to review 3 of our favourite books this year. Let’s get into it!

Zoe: In no particular order my first book which would be in the top 3 book this year would have to be The 100, Homecoming by Kass Morgan. This is the 3rd book of the 100 series but I thought this book was definitely the best out of the 3 and I absolutely loved reading it. I thought this book had a lot more action than the others and really helped me connect with the characters which I thought was really impressive.

My second book in my top three would have to be The Selection and The Selection series in general by Kiera Cass. I thought all 5 books in this series were so fun and cute to read. I became really connected to all the characters and although I loved all the books I would say that the first book or the third were my favourites.

My third and final book on my top 3 list would be Sky on Fire by Emmy Laybourne. This is the second book in the monument 14 series and unusually I loved this one much more than the other 2 as it was full of action and the characters made huge development and the storyline was so compelling I couldn’t put it down.

23264825  10507293  16075615

Annike: So firstly, I’m starting off with The Fifth Wave and The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey. I intentionally left The Last Star off this list because I thought it didn’t do the other two books justice but at the same time it wasn’t a bad read. I instantly fell in love with the writing style of Rick Yancey and it was one of the first books that I found really powerful. The characters were amazing and these two books in particular were great reads with a very unique plot.

So following on from that, I loved the duology How I Fall and How I Fly by Anne Eliot. Zoe said I haven’t raved about these books enough for them to be one of my favourites of the year but again I just really love Anne Eliot’s writing, especially after reading her book Almost last year. It was such a sweet and meaningful read and both the books were equally amazing addressing cerebral palsy.

And finally, my last top read for this year is a book I just finished yesterday and loved which was of course The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson. I loved how it focused on all aspects of family, friendship, relationships and just teenage life in general and I loved all the characters but couldn’t get over that ending!

114 16101128 22319051

Annike: Thanks for reading guys, make sure to pick up a few of these books if you haven’t read them because we obviously enjoyed them a lot! If you have read even one of these please let us know what you thought of them. Anyways, have a good rest of the weekend x

Honourable Mentions:

Some Boys by Patty Blount

Trial by Fire Series by Josephine Angelini

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

In Real Life by Jessica Love

Leave a Reply

