The Last Star ~ Book Review

Annike: Hi everybody! It’s Annike here today to give a book review of the third book of the Fifth Wave series that came out last month. I got it for my birthday from a friend and although it was a little harder to get into than the other ones it was still really good. If you haven’t read the Fifth Wave series I highly recommend them to anyone out there.

16131489.jpgThe enemy is Other. The enemy is us.

They’re down here, they’re up there, they’re nowhere. They want the Earth, they want us to have it. They came to wipe us out, they came to save us. But beneath these riddles lies one truth: Cassie has been betrayed. So has Ringer. Zombie. Nugget. And all 7.5 billion people who used to live on our planet. Betrayed first by the Others, and now by ourselves.

In these last days, Earth’s remaining survivors will need to decide what’s more important: saving themselves…or saving what makes us human.

Without Spoilers:

The book follows Cassie who is the main character along with Ben (her high school crush), Ringer (A girl from Ben’s squad), Sam (Cassie’s brother) and a small group of other survivors. Ringer is separated from the group after she got captured by Vosch in the 2nd book and Ben is going after her.

What I really liked about this book was a lot of the group dynamics and how this group of strangers had somehow managed to come together. I thought it was great how Yancey didn’t make them all perfect characters who loved each other, there was conflict, there was love and that was really important. The book was quite fast paced and it had a lot of amazing action which was great but I found it harder to get into than the other because it didn’t grab my attention so much.

What I did love in all the books was Rick Yancey’s writing style. I just love the power in his language and his words and at every end of a chapter there was an amazing cliff hanger or powerful sentence to leave you hanging. One thing I didn’t like was the character of Sam, who was so undeniably sweet in the first book and then by The Last Star I hated. He was disrespectful which I wouldn’t expect from a six year old no matter the experience. But he did gain some respect back from the 2nd book by being so handy, clever and experienced. He was able to get the group out of a number of tough situations.

5th-wave-chloe-moretz-turning.gif

Spoilers Ahead:

So going on from the simple plot and the characters, I did like and not like a bunch of other things from the book, which mind you, if not read will give away the ending. The book didn’t have as much mind blowing stuff going on as the other books so was harder to hook you on, but by the end I was pretty engaged. About the ending, I’m not sure whether I loved it or didn’t. I like how things didn’t end happily ever after and I really like how Cassie died such a hero but there were people who I still couldn’t understand why they were still alive. I’m not sure what the reason was for Ringer to be pregnant, it didn’t really help the plot and by the time the book ended I was almost certain that the baby would have died especially after being practically beaten to death by Evan.

I did love the powerful end with Cassie though, the way that she was downloaded every memory in Wonderland was so amazing and this reoccurring theme of being humanity was actually true by the end. Every single person played their role in the book. I liked Ben as a character all the way through, he was positive and always looking out for the best in people and that was really what the book needed. I think that a lot of the plans to get into the main facility were neither planned out nor explained enough so it made it hard to understand.There were a few moments that definitely had me puzzled but I’m not sure if that was just me or if it was the writing style. Teacup, another member of squad 53 was more of a dead weight than a character, she was a young and stubborn girl ho I don’t think added much to the story but I loved how much care everybody was willing to show her at this time in the word.

“But I am more than this. I am all those they remember, the ones they loved, everyone they knew, and everyone they only heard about. How many are contained in me? Count the stars. Go on, number the grains of sand. That’s me. I am humanity.”

Thanks for reading, that was just what I thought about The Last star, I would probably give it a 4/5 stars but we’ll see what I think when it all sinks in. Bye x

2 comments

Leave a Reply

