The Crown By Kiera Cass Review

Hey guys its Zoe here today doing a review on the book I recently read called The Crown By Kiera Cass. This post wont contain any spoilers because I know a lot of people haven’t read the book seeing as it only came out a month or so ago, so lets get into it.

When Eadlyn became the first princess of Illéa to hold her own Selection, she didn’t think she would fall in love with any of her thirty-five suitors. She spent the first few weeks of the competition counting down the days until she could send them all home. But as events at the palace force Eadlyn even further into the spotlight, she realises that she might not be content remaining alone.

Eadlyn still isn’t sure she’ll find the fairytale ending her parents did twenty years ago. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you…

This is the 5th book in the series The Selection by Kiera Cass and I had been really looking forward to reading this book since it came out. I didn’t know what to expect from this book as I found the Heir (the 4th book), which is in the same perspective as the 5th a bit shaky and not as strong as the first 3 as I didn’t connect with the main character as much however I felt like during this book I grew to love Eadlyn which I really enjoyed.

My favourite character would have to be Maxon and America who are Eadlyn’s parents who were the 2 main characters in the first 3 books. I think because I loved these 2 in the first 3 books I could connect with them more and found it really fun to see them as parents and how they have changed over the course of this series. I felt like in The Heir Eadlyn was very hard to connect to but I think Kiera Cass did a really good job in being able to make her more relatable and we got to see her as a real leader.

“You have to embrace the idea of imperfection, even if the thing that is most perfect for you.”
― Kiera Cass, The Crown

I thought the ending was definitely a strong part of the book and perfectly rounded out the series. I thought something which was really effective in this book was the fact that it showed more of the original 3 books in it as it added in some of the memories of Maxon and America and their time in the selection which I found really cute and fun. I thought that it was more personal and we got to see a better connection between the guys and Eadlyn as she definitely narrowed it down and I think this created a better connection between the audience and the characters. I found the book a really light read and something which I couldn’t put down because I was so eager to find out what happened in the end and it was definitely worth it.

Overall I would definitely recommend this book, and The Selection series in general. I found them all so cute and really lovely reads and thoroughly enjoyed this book.

Star Rating: 5/5

So that concludes my review today on The Crown, if any of you have read it make sure to tell me if you liked it in the comments below, or if you want to read it tell me what you think of the Selection series so far. Thanks for reading and we will be back with another post very soon. x

Crown_blogpost_web2-2.jpg

2 comments

Leave a Reply

