May Read ~ 2016

Annike: Hey guys, Zoe and I are here today to wrap up our months and just give an overview on the books that we have read this month, so enjoy!

Annike’s Books

  1. The way I used to be by Amber Smith
  2. Keep Quiet by Lisa Scottoline
  3. Never Always Sometimes by Ali Alsaid
  4. Article 5 by Kristin Simmons
  5. The City of Ember by Jeanne DuPrau

Screen Shot 2016-05-29 at 5.43.53 PMAnnike: So this month I hardly read any books which I was quite disappointed especially when considering that I need to read at least 8 a month to reach my goal of 100 books. Anyways, unfortunately I didn’t really love any of them greatly as well. Starting off with ‘The Way I Used to be’ by Amber Smith, I did enjoy this book but it was very deep and quite a difficult read considering its hard topic. I wasn’t really connecting with the MC in this book and I think this went for ‘Keep Quiet’ as well considering it was focused around a 40 – something year old man and his son. ‘Never Always Sometimes’ was one of those contemporary books that seemed to drag on without much aim and because ‘The City of Ember’ was a book I had to read for school, it wasn’t something I would have necessarily picked out myself. I think in regards to ‘The City of Ember’ it seemed like a book fit for someone a bit younger like really early teens or tweens so it was hard to engage as much as I would have liked. The only book I actually enjoyed thoroughly was ‘Article 5’ because I feel like it had some action and some characters who I could show empathy for but even then I did have some problems with this book. Overall, I can definitely say that none of these books will make it into my favourite books of the year but I’m hoping that next month will be a better one, and considering that it is my birthday next month I might find myself coming across a couple that I have been dying to read.

Zoe’s Books

  1. Burn Out – Kristi Helvig (3.5 stars)
  2. In Real life – Jessica Love (4 stars)
  3. Fracture – Megan Miranda (3.5 stars)
  4. Sky on Fire – Emmy Laybourne (5 stars)

Screen Shot 2016-05-31 at 5.52.59 AM.png

Zoe: I didn’t think I read as many books as I would have liked (as most months), but I definitely enjoyed the books I did read. The first book I read was Burn out by Kristi Helvig. I read this for my English class, as we had to read a dystopian book. I have had this book on my TBR list for a long time and I was really happy to finally finish it. I thought it was really good book and had a unique and individual story line, which I really enjoyed. The second book I read was In Real Life by Jessica Love. Annike recommended this to me and I absolutely loved it. I thought it was the cutest book ever and was such a light-hearted book with a cute storyline. The 3rd book I read in May was Fracture by Megan Miranda. I have also had this on my TBR list for a while and was happy to be finally reading it. This was definitely different to what I was expecting and covered a pretty dark topic but I enjoyed it never the less being able to read something I wouldn’t normally read. The last book I read was Sky On Fire by Emmy Laybourne, which is the second book of Monument 14, and unlike most trilogies I loved the second book so much more than I did the first. I thought it was so unique and had such a fast paced and strong storyline, which is why I thought it was such an amazing book. Overall, I really enjoyed this months’ books and I cant wait for another great month of reading in June!

Zoe: Thanks for readings our recap on the books we read this month. We hope you enjoyed reading it and we will be back soon with a June TBR, telling you what we want to read next month. Thanks for reading and hope you are having a good week so far. x

Leave a Reply

