Book Review ~ Article 5

Annike: Hey guys, so today I am here with a book review for a book called Article 5 which is what I read while Zoe and I were away. Before I start I just want to apologise for not putting anything up in quite a while. While we were away there wasn’t very much service at all and because it was a school trip for two weeks it was difficult to fit in any time to blog but we will definitely have more blogs up now.

10677277New York, Los Angeles, and Washington, D.C., have been abandoned. The Bill of Rights has been revoked, and replaced with the Moral Statutes. There are no more police—instead, there are soldiers, there are arrests, trials, and maybe worse. People who get arrested usually don’t come back.

Seventeen-year-old Ember Miller is old enough to remember that things weren’t always this way. Living with her rebellious mother, it’s hard for her to forget that people weren’t always arrested for reading the wrong books or staying out after dark. Ember has perfected the art of keeping a low profile. She knows how to get food stamps and hand-me-down clothes, and how to pass the random home inspections by the military. Her life is as close to peaceful as circumstances allow.

That is, until her mother is arrested for noncompliance with Article 5 of the Moral Statutes. And one of the arresting officers is none other than Chase Jennings—the only boy Ember has ever loved. 

Annike: To be honest, I really liked this book. I thought it was a very unique idea and I thought that it also had really good characterisation of characters like Ember and Chase.

What I liked:

  • There is a lot of action in this book especially as you get more into the book so it definitely keeps you interested.
  • I really liked the character of Ember because of how mature she seemed to be and how before the story started she was always looking after her mother and trying to  avoid trouble. Ember seemed a little bit oblivious to the world around her however which could make her a bit annoying at some times.
  • I absolutely loved the relationship between Ember and Chase. I would have loved Ember to be a bit more open because she always seemed to be trying to run away from Chase or the situation at hand even when it was obvious that Chase was always there for her.
  • Lastly, I think that the book was quite an easy read and it was quite easy to get engaged in quickly which made it all the more enjoyable.

What I didn’t like:

  • Concerning the character of Ember, I really hoped that she wouldn’t be one of those defying characters who was too stubborn to accept anything, couldn’t stand the facility she was thrown into etc. And I know that this is a Young Adult book so that was going to be a given but I wish that she was a bit more mature and agreeable at times.
  • I wasn’t really a fan of the world that this book was built in. I didn’t think that it was well structured enough to be the country in the future and the rules there just seemed to be really irrational.
  • Lastly, I think that the book was really engaging at the beginning but sometimes felt like it went on a bit at some points and made it hard to get through. At the same time while I thought Chase was a great character I couldn’t really understand why he stuck around for Ember.

So overall, this book did have quite a few issues that made it a little bit harder to read but at the same time I think it was built really well and I would definitely recommend it for people who love dystopian novels.

Star Rating: 4/5 stars

Thanks for reading! Bye 🙂

Leave a Reply

