Book Review ~ Never Always Sometimes

Hey guys, it’s Annike here today for a book review on a book I read earlier this week. I just want to warn you guys about something before I get into it. Zoe and I are going away for two weeks on Monday, so I’m not really sure if we will be able to get any posts out or only a couple because we won’t have internet and we’ll be working hard on school stuff. Anyways, just thought I should let you know in case of radio silence 🙂 Let’s get started!

Never Always Sometimes: 2/5 stars

24338298.jpg

Best friends Dave and Julia were determined to never be cliché high school kids. They even wrote their own Never List of everything they vowed they’d never do in high school.

Some of the rules have been easy to follow, like, never dye your hair, or never hook up with a teacher. But Dave has a secret: he has loved Julia for as long as he can remember.

Julia is beautiful, wild and impetuous. So when she suggests they complete the Never list, Dave plays along. It starts as a joke, but then Dave and Julia discover that by skipping clichés, they’ve been missing out on high school. And maybe even on love

So, this book centres around two characters, Dave and Julia. The first perspective of the book is that of Dave, then Julia and then Dave and Julia so I’ll split them up and talk it though.

Part 1 ~ Dave

So this part firstly focuses on the idea of finding the list of Nevers and Julia’s decision to complete the list and become ‘highschool clichés’. Dave is secretly pining for Julia for the entirety of this part, which was slightly annoying at some parts. The book is more of a contemporary story but because it doesn’t have a climax it was quite slow going without much happening. Dave and Julia, begin the never list and in this part Dave also starts to see a different girl called Gretchen which when he tells Julia about, turns problematic for the two.

Part 2 ~ Julia

The second part which is Julia’s perspective starts a little after halfway through the book. It then focuses on the idea of Julia also secretly being in love with Dave, but Julia as a character I didn’t like as much. I thought she came around a lot when she helped Dave invite Gretchen to prom and could get over pining. Because of her wild attitude I found Julia a bit annoying she just didn’t seem to make me care about her. While the book tried to hard to focus on trying to keep away from clichés, one of the biggest problem with it was how unbelievably cliche it was as a story.

Part 3 ~ Dave and Julia

The final part focused on Dave and Julia coming together, admitting their feelings for each other and actually getting together, despite Dave already being in a relationship with Gretchen who I generally liked as a character. This enjoyment was short lived though because there was clearly something off between the two and in the end the two don’t even end up together despite the whole story leading up to it. I would maybe have been more upset if i had managed to connect with either of the main character but unfortunately I couldn’t.

Anyways, so that was how the book ended and to be honest it really was far from one of my favourites. I liked the relationship between Gretchen and Dave by the end, but in all honesty it wasn’t a book I sped through or particularly enjoyed. Bye 🙂

If you have read this book please tell me what you thought of it below.

5 comments

  1. I totally agree with you. I thought the book was exactly what I wanted to read but when I started reading it, I felt a little annoyed as the story was non happening and things were too slow. It wasn’t even funny ! Though I feel the writer tried many times to make the readers laugh. I won’t suggest anyone to read it. And thanks for putting up the climax as I can’t tolerate the book anymore. You saved my time 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

