Burn Out by Kristi Helvig Book Review

Zoe: Hey Guys, its Zoe here today, and I’m going to be doing a review on the book Burn Out by Kristi Helvig which I recently finished. 

Most people want to save the world; seventeen-year-old Tora just wants to get the hell off of it. One of the last survivors in Earth’s final years, Tora yearns to escape the wasteland her planet has become after the sun turns “red giant,” but discovers her fellow survivors are even deadlier than the hostile environment.

Holed up in an underground shelter, Tora is alone–her brilliant scientist father murdered, her mother and sister burned to death. She dreams of living on a planet with oceans, plants, and animals. Unfortunately, the oceans dried out ages ago, the only plants are giant cacti with deadly spines, and her pet, Trigger, is a gun–one of the bio-energetic weapons her father created for the government before his conscience kicked in. Tora must quickly figure out who she can trust, as she must choose between saving herself by giving up the guns or honoring her father’s request to save humanity from the most lethal weapons in existence.

I really enjoyed this book and found it a really fun and engaging read. In English we are studying dystopian books, and this was the perfect choice for a dystopian world as the sun has practically ruined the entire Earth, leaving nothing alive, and going outside alone without a space suit will burn you alive. I loved how unique and different this book was, and the fact that it was packed with action and suspense made it such an enjoyable read.

“The last girl on Earth…just got company”

I loved the fact that it wasn’t predictable and I couldn’t even try to figure out what was going to happen next because Kristi Helvig did such a good job with plot twists and betrayals that I found the entire book I was wondering what was going to happen. I loved Tora as a main character as she was relatable and so tough, but mainly because she stuck to her morals and went on believing and living to fulfil for her dads legacy which I thought was super sweet and inspiring. I thought the character development was definitely a highlight, as the characters changed a lot throughout the books, and throughout the book my opinions on all of the characters changed so much, so I didn’t even know where I stood with most them sometimes. 

One of the things I didn’t love as much was the slow beginning as it took quite a long time for me to really get into the book. I get that this is a requirement for a dystopian novel as you have to really set up the new world so we know what everything is like and how different it is to todays society, but I would have liked just a little bit more action at the beginning of the book so I got into it a bit quicker. However, as the story developed I definitely got hooked. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who loves sci-fi or dystopian fiction as it was such a fun and engaging read and written very well.  

Star Rating: 4/5

Thanks for reading, I hope you enjoyed reading this review and if you have also read this book make sure you comment below and tell me if you liked it or not. We will be back with another blog post soon. xx

burnout_web.png

Leave a Reply

