April 2016 ~ Books Read

Zoe: Hey guys, we are here today reviewing all the books we read this month and how we liked them, so let’s get into it. Enjoy:)

Annike read: 7 Books

1. This is Where it Ends – Marieke Nijkamp (3 stars)

2. All our Yesterdays – Cristin Terrill (4.5 stars)

3. 10 Clues You’re Clueless – Liz Czukas (3 stars)

4. In Real Life – Jessica Love (4.5 stars)

5. The Summer of Letting Go – Gae Polisner (3 stars)

6. Ask Again Later – Liz Czukas (4 stars)

7. For Real – Alison Cherry (4 stars)

8. Hav3n – Tom Easton (3.5 stars)

 Screen Shot 2016-04-30 at 7.18.42 am.png

Annike: This month I feel was a very productive month for me in terms of book numbers. I managed to read quite a few but maybe not as many as I would have liked considering we are in the holidays. I especially loved the books All our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrell and In Real Life by Jessica Love, one of which focused on the idea of time travel and the other was a super cute kind of romance novel that I fell in love with. There were a lot of average 3 star books that didn’t wow me but were interesting to some extent. Two other contemporary style books that were rates in the 4 star zone were Ask Again Later by Liz Czukas which followed the story of a high school prom, and For Real by Alison Cherry which we did a review on and was a story about an around the world adventure. The rest seemed slightly baldness without much action and as for This is Where it Ends I was really let down and has such high expectations :(. Overall I was happy with the month, I’m hoping I get a few more real stand outs next month though.

 

Zoe read: 4 Books
1. The Heir (Selection) – Kiera Cass (4.5 stars)

2. Monument 14 – Emmy Laybourne (4 stars)

3. The Taking – Kimberly Derting (4 stars)

4. Carrier of the Mark – Leigh Fallon (3.5 stars)

Zoe: I didn’t have a great month of reading in April, and not that I didn’t like the books I read, because I did, I just didn’t read as much as I would have liked. The first book I read which followed on from March was The Heir by Kiera Cass. I loved the previous 3 books, and this was no exception. I thought it was really well written, and I thought the change of the main character was really interesting, and loved that it followed on with the main character’s daughter, however I did miss America and Maxon who were the previous main characters, and I think I resonated with them a bit more, but still loved the book. The second book I read was Monument 14 which Annike recommended, and I was not surprised that I loved it as well. It was a fun and interesting read, and I found it very engaging. I thought the characters were well written and the concept was really cool. The next book I read was The Taking, which started off really slow and I couldn’t get into it, however when I did, I found it really fun, and original, and I thought that Kimberly Derting did a really good job at writing it. The last book I read was Carrier of the Mark which I found really good, however it didn’t have the most interesting story at times I found it a really easy, quick and interesting read which I thought was very different but had a really good concept as well. Although I didn’t read as much as i would have liked, I thought all the books I read were awesome and can’t wait for May, to read more amazing books:)

 

Annike: Thanks for reading guys. Hope you enjoyed the little recap on our reading month. If you like the sound of any of these books, please give them a go or if you have read them let us know what you thought. Enjoy the rest of your week and the end of this month! x

2 comments

Leave a Reply

