Book review Questionnaire – The Carrier of the Mark

Zoe: Hey guys its me here today doing a review on the most recent book I read, The Carrier of the Mark by Leigh Fallon. I chose a number of questions which I made up and decided to answer them for the book review.

When Megan Rosenberg moves to Ireland, everything in her life seems to fall into place. After growing up in America, she’s surprised to find herself feeling at home in her new school. She connects with a group of friends, and she is instantly drawn to darkly handsome Adam DeRÍs. But Megan is about to discover that her feelings for Adam are tied to a fate that was sealed long ago—and that the passion and power that brought them together could be their ultimate destruction.

  1.  What did you think of the main character?

I thought Megan was a good, typical female main character. She was friendly but stubborn and I thought she was well developed and easy to relate to. She was a strong female character and although I thought some of her actions were unjustified I overall thought she was pretty good and maintained good morals throughout the story.

  1.  Which character could you relate to best?

My favourite character was Aine, (Adams twin sister) because I thought she was really easy to relate to and was such a genuine kind and exuberant character which are not often found in YA fantasy books and I thought she really contributed to the story.

  1.  How did the main character change during the novel?

I think Megan definitely grew as a person as she went through a lot during the book, but I don’t think her personality changed as much as i would have expected. I think some of the things in the book were a bit unrealistic and Megan always took it very well.

  1.  Was the book different from what you expected?

I think I was expecting a bit more from the book when i first saw it, but i still enjoyed it. I thought that it took a long time to actually get into the main plot and was a bit slow, but it was written well and enjoyable to read.

  1.  Favourite quote of the book?

“We can’t bet our lives away on something that might be. We can cross that bridge if we come to it”

  1.  What did you like least about the book?

As I said above, I think my least favourite thing about the book was the pace, as i think it needed just a bit more action and more of a plot twist, and the only real action picked up at the end of the book so I would have liked a bit more of that.

  1.  Did you like the way the book ended?

I think the ending was what was to be expected for a book in a series. It ended on a happy note, which will perfectly lead into the next book however I it might have been more interesting with a twist or something to engage /pull you into reading the 2nd book.

  1.  What did you think of the cover?

I absolutely LOVED the cover of this book. I think it is really creative and I think I was expecting so much of it partially because of the amazing cover.

  1.  How would you rate it?

3.5/5 stars
Zoe: That’s all of the questions for this review. I hope you enjoyed reading the review and if you have also read this book make sure to tell me if you liked it in the comments below. Hope you are having a good week and be back soon with another blog. xx

IMG_2736.JPG

One comment

Leave a Reply

