Book Review ~ For Real by Alison Cherry

Annike: Hey guys, so Zoe and I are going to do a joint review today on a book I read recently and Zoe read a couple of months ago. She actually recommended it to me and I think it’ll be interesting to get both of our different perspectives on the book. We decided to split the review into 3 parts to analyse; What we thought of the characters, what we liked as a whole and what we didn’t like.

18769257.jpg

Shy, cautious Claire has always been in her older sister’s shadow. While Miranda’s life is jam-packed with exciting adventures, Claire gets her thrills by watching people on reality TV.

When Miranda discovers her boyfriend, Samir, is cheating on her, Claire comes up with the idea to outshine Miranda’s fame-obsessed ex by competing on a race around the globe for a million bucks.

But the show has a twist, and Claire is stunned to find herself in the middle of a reality-show romance that may or may not be just for the cameras. This summer could end up being the highlight of her life… or an epic fail forever captured on film.

Characters

Annike:

  • Miranda: I did like a number of the characters in this book, but unfortunately Miranda wasn’t one. She was one of the bigger characters and is on the show to get revenge on her ex-boyfriend. I thought Miranda was way too hung up on Samir and she simply didn’t support her sister at all. When she finally stepped up and did something nice, she ended up getting angry at Claire for no good reason at all.
  • Will: I was very fooled by Will. If you’ve read the book you will understand where I am coming from. He was such a sweet character from the first part of the book and when he ended screwing up Claire and breaking her heart I was really disappointed, but he obviously developed the story well and made Claire a lot stronger.

Zoe:

  • Claire: I thought Claire was a very well developed character over the story. She is your typical high school girl who is unpopular and a bit of a geek which was a bit cheesy but I enjoyed her character and how she was portrayed and thought she was very loyal, loving and overlooked by a lot of people.
  • Samir: Samir is one of those characters which the audience are positioned to dislike from the very beginning of the book. He cheats on his girlfriend Miranda and this whole story is the adventure of getting revenge on him. I think he was well developed and is positioned so people don’t feel bad for him, and is overall portrayed as arrogant, self obsessed and frankly rude.  

What we liked:

Zoe: I really liked the story line and originality of this book. I thought it was such a cute, light hearted and easy read which was funny and exciting. The relationship between Claire and her sister was very believable as they treated each other how some sisters really do act and even though they both had their issues they were there for each other every step of the way.

Annike: I have to agree with Zoe here, the storyline of this book was so original and clever. I wasn’t really so sure about the twist to what was meant to be a fun sisterly bonding travel around the world but it was engaging, funny and there were a couple of classic scenes that I would have loved to witness 🙂

What we didn’t like:

Annike: I think that there were some problems with the characters. They weren’t as relatable as I would have liked, as well as the fact that we didn’t really get introduced thoroughly to any of them. I would have liked a bit more travel and adventure in the book because it seemed rather placid for a TV show and focused a bit much on the romance part of it.

Zoe: I don’t think the character development in the book was as effective as it could have been. Out of the possible 20 competitors in the reality TV show we didn’t get to see that much into their personalities so at the end of the book I wasn’t even sure who I wanted to win. I get that this is hard because there we so many characters in the book but I think getting a bit content involving some of the characters would have improved the book.

 

Star Rating:

Annike: 3.5/5

 imgres.jpg

Zoe: 4.5/5

imgres-1.jpg
Zoe: Overall, For Real was a very quick, cute, funny read. It is perfect if you’re looking for a light read with a great sibling relationship. It made me smile, laugh and I would definitely recommend this book for anyone looking for something like this.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

