This is Where it Ends by Marieke Nijkamp ~ Review

Annike: Hey guys, so as you may have seen on my TBR list I have been wanting to read This is Where it Ends for a while and I was super excited to get my hands on it. So I thought I’d give it a review for you. If you haven’t read this book, I’m warning you that there will be spoilers so if you don’t want to be spoiled and wish to read the book in the future, don’t read past here 🙂

24529123.jpg10:00 a.m.
The principal of Opportunity, Alabama’s high school finishes her speech, welcoming the entire student body to a new semester and encouraging them to excel and achieve.
10:02 a.m.
The students get up to leave the auditorium for their next class.
10:03
The auditorium doors won’t open.
10:05
Someone starts shooting.
Told over the span of 54 harrowing minutes from 4 different perspectives, terror reigns as one student’s revenge turns into the ultimate game of survival.

Overview from me:

So the book basically focuses on a school shooting in a school called Opportunity. There are 4 different perspectives in the book, those of the shooters sister (Autumn) and girlfriend (Sylv) who are both inside the auditorium when the shooting starts. Then there is the shooters ex-girlfriend (Claire) who was in running practice when the doors were locked after the assembly. The last character is Sylv’s twin brother (Tomas) who is also outside the auditorium. It covers the span of less than an hour, in many single minute intervals and is quite a short book overall.

What I liked:

 So I figure I better start with the positives rather than the negatives. I really liked in the terms of the characters how they were all linked in one way or another. I can’t say I was a big fan about the characters as a whole or the decision of multiple POV’s but I thought that this linking of these characters that were revealed throughout the story, helped make it very fluid and understandable. I really loved the idea as whole, going in I was so captivated by a book about school shooting which represents some really important problems in many countries. There are definitely a wide range of characters and a lot of diversity in this book, which was also very positive for a YA book.

“And I know the auditorium may be big enough to hold a thousand students, but it’s too small to hide just one.”

What I didn’t like: 

There were quite a few things in this book that I don’t think were executed as well as they could have. I think the way that there was multiple POV’s stopped me from getting really involved with any of the characters. We got random flashbacks that I couldn’t relate to at all and everything in the book seemed a little unrealistic. It was disappointing how little emotion this book evoked in me. The writing style I just don’t think worked when tackling a story like this and since we are never actually really explained Tyler’s motives enough he becomes so one dimensional in a way. Even if his motives are explained to some extent, it is not the kind of situation that would make you go into a school and kill heaps of children. I wasn’t really sure how Claire was relevant in the story. She was outside the gym, has quite a bland story line and even her brother who she was so desperate to save ended up dying at the end so we never really got a conclusion of her story. At the same time I kept questioning so many parts of the book. For 1, the police didn’t bother to show up for like 40 minutes, which I just couldn’t believe considering every kid in that hall would have had a cellphone. And even when the doors were opened and Tyler had left, the SWAT teams thought it was appropriate to let all the perfectly capable children to leave the hall while the injured lay slowly bleeding to death…. I mean SERIOUSLY?! Overall, the characters were just too unrelatable and this meant I couldn’t even be sad when numerous of the ended up being killed, even those who were important.

tumblr_o17qxmyIUN1v5b2svo1_500.gif

 Overall comment:

I give the author credit for tackling such a difficult topic, and I thought that the idea was really good, but overall I was just quite disappointed at the execution of the characters. We needed more raw emotion and connection to do such a topic justice and although there were definitely parts of the book that kept me captivated, because my hopes were so high I was a bit let down.

Stars: 3/5

 Annike: Thanks for reading guys. If you have read this book please leave a comment below and tell me what you thought. I’d love to hear if you enjoyed it or were disappointed like me. If you haven’t read it feel free to give it a try, even if my review didn’t sound so amazing. Thanks x

3 comments

  1. I’ve read quite a few negative reviews for this one. The initially premise seems amazing, but then the writing and characters let the story down. I would have really liked for Tyler to have been developed upon a little more. At the moment, I feel as if he is mainly just a placeholder for “evil shooter”. Great review!

    – Paul @ The Galaxial Word

    Like

Leave a Reply

