March 2016 ~ Books Read

Annike: Hey Guys, so here is the wrap up of the books we read in March and what we thought about them. Enjoy 🙂

Zoe’s Books

Screen Shot 2016-03-31 at 6.19.52 AM.png

Zoe: I’m just going to start out with saying how AMAZING all the covers of the books I read were!! I absolutely loved EVERY single book I read this month, they were all amazing, some better than others but I was absolutely blown away with the quality of all the books I read. I read 6 books, three of them including the first 3 of the Selection series by Kiera Cass (The Selection, The Elite and The One), which I thought were all amazing. I wasn’t expecting to love them as much as I did but they were actually so cute and I loved the idea behind them all. My 2 most anticipated reads this month were Red by Alison Cherry and How Zoe Made Her Dreams (mostly) Come True by Sarah Strohmeyer. I was looking for these 2 books for ages and was so excited when i got them, and wasn’t let down. I loved them because they were such light hearted and loving books especially How Zoe Made Her Dreams (mostly) Come True because it was the funniest and most adorable book ever. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard was one which I was expecting to be good because of the amazing reviews it was getting and it certainly didn’t let me down. I loved everything about this book and can’t wait to get my hands on the 2nd book. Overall this was an amazing reading month and I can’t wait for April.

Rating:

The Selection: 4.5/5

The Elite: 4/5

The One: 4/5

Red: 4/5

Red Queen: 5/5

How Zoe Made Her Dreams (mostly) Come True: 4/5

 

Annike’s Books                                     

Screen Shot 2016-03-31 at 6.17.25 AM.png

Annike: So, I may not be as proud as Zoe of the covers that the books I read this moth had, but they were a definite step up from last month’s reads. I enjoyed pretty much all of them to an extent but there was no particular stand out that I loved, and no book that got awarded 5 stars. So I managed to get to 9 books this month which I was excited about. This included sweet contemporary books to apocalyptic zombie books. I read the duology of In the After which I was very impressed with and have reviewed on our blog. My Life in Black and White had a very interesting plot line, a story of coming of age and growing up. I love the author of Unmaking Hunter Kennedy, so I was hoping for something a little better, after her other books, but it was quite a cute story at the same time. Goodbye, Rebel Blue was a book I got from my school library, it didn’t have the same plot driven story as the others, which left it a little bland but it did have some interesting ideas, I think i just needed something a little more exciting, in order to want to pick it up. So overall, while all these books are quite good, I don’t think any were particularly amazing. I do recommend a couple: Bright Before Sunrise, In The After duology, Breathe, Annie Breathe and My Life in Black and White were probably my favourite of the month.

Rating:

My Life in Black and White: 4/5

Unmaking Hunter Kennedy: 3/5

Bright Before Sunrise: 3.5/5

The Heartbreakers: 3.5/5

The List: 3/5

In the After: 4/5  

In the End: 4/5

Breathe, Annie Breathe: 4/5

Goodbye Rebel Blue: 2.5/5

 

Annike: Thanks for reading guys, you can check out any of our reviews on some of the books we read this month by clicking on their links. If you have read any of these books or plan to in the future, please leave a comment down below!

Thanks, we will be back soon 🙂

3 comments

  1. I’m that you enjoyed Red Queen, Zoe! The second book, unfortunately, isn’t nearly as good (in my opinion), and includes way too much teenage angst and soul searching. There are literally several so many wasted pages on “ERMAGORD I JUST KILL SOMEONE WUT AM AH GAHHNNA DOO??” and “ERMAGORD AM I BECOMIN EVILL??”. Needless to say, it got quite annoying. Hopefully, you do enjoy it more than I did! Here, I’ll link you to my review 😀 You guys read some really good books during March! I definitely need to get around to reading the Selection series.

    Like

Leave a Reply

