Book Review – Bright Before Sunrise

Jonah is forced to move from Hamilton to Cross Pointe for half of senior year. He feels like the doggy-bag from his mother’s first marriage and everything else about her new life is an upgrade. The people at Cross Pointe High School are pretentious and privileged—and worst of all is Brighton Waterford, the embodiment of all things superficial and popular. And then… Jonah’s girlfriend, Carly, breaks up with him.

For Brighton, every day is a gauntlet of demands and expectations. Since her father died, she’s relied on one coping method: pretending to be fine. Today is the anniversary of his death and cracks are beginning to show. The last thing she needs is the new kid telling her how much he dislikes her for no reason. She’s determined to change his mind, and she finally gets her chance.

Jonah hates her at 3p.m., but how will he feel at 3 a.m.?

Annike: Hey Guys, so I finished Bright Before Sunrise by Tiffany Schmidt yesterday and I decided to write a short review on how I thought it was. Overall it was a good book, quite an easy read, and one I finished in a little under 2 days. 

What I did like:

  • I really did love the characters in this book. I thought that they were well developed considering that the story did focus on this development greatly. I loved Brighton, (and her name too) she was so sweet and as she called ‘nice’ but she was also much deeper on the inside. 
  • I very much liked the alternating POV’s so we get to hear both Brighton and Jonah’s ‘opinions’ on each other as well as the situation. 
  • I lastly loved the relationship between Jonah and Brighton, I loved them as characters and it was fun to see them come together from enemies into people that were genuinely likeable.

What I didn’t like:

  • One thing that did annoy me about the character of Brighton, was how she was a little too perfect and her idea of being a rebel was something like green nail polish, I mean… seriously?
  • I thought while the concept of a 24 hours period where two people can fall in love was interesting, it seemed too unrealistic and the story became slightly bland after a little while since there wasn’t exactly a climax. 
  • Because, of such a short time frame and the very fact that Jonah and Brighton hated each other at the beginning of the story, I couldn’t really believe that they were in love at the and of the story, and while I loved the two of them as characters I wished that I’d believed their relationship more at the end.

AoAeI.gif

Annike: So overall, I did really enjoy this book, it was a really easy and fun read and while there were a few things that put me off, I definitely would recommend this book to anyone out there (especially if you love cutesy romantic stories).

Thanks for reading, Zoe and I will be back sometime this week for another post!

If you’ve read Bright Before Sunrise or if you want to, feel free to leave a comment down below on what you thought about it 🙂

4 comments

Leave a Reply

