Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

 

Hey guys it me, Zoe here today. I’m going to be reviewing a pretty popular book lately called Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard. I thought this book was absolutely amazing and is my favourite books this year, so lets get to it.

This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.

Mare Barrow’s world is divided by blood—those with common, Red blood serve the Silver- blooded elite, who are gifted with superhuman abilities. Mare is a Red, scraping by as a thief in a poor, rural village, until a twist of fate throws her in front of the Silver court. Before the king, princes, and all the nobles, she discovers she has an ability of her own.

To cover up this impossibility, the king forces her to play the role of a lost Silver princess and betroths her to one of his own sons. As Mare is drawn further into the Silver world, she uses her new position to help the Scarlet Guard—a growing Red rebellion—even as her heart tugs her in an impossible direction. One wrong move can lead to her death, but in the dangerous game she plays, the only certainty is betrayal.

I thought this book so well written and the story line was absolutely amazing, making me not want to put it down. I really enjoyed the crazy adventure of this book, and it was so full of action that it kept you turning the pages. I loved the idea, and knew I really wanted to read it when I read the blurb because I thought it sounded amazing, however was a bit confused with the mixed range of reviews. I loved the look of the cover and I thought the quality of writing was really well done. I could see how it was similar to other popular YA dystopian books but it didn’t really affect me because I loved the differences about it and that it was developed so well.

“The truth is what I make it. I could set this world on fire and call it rain.”

I thought Mare also started out as your typical “Katniss” kind of character, but I think she developed through the book really nicely and so did the other characters. My favourite character would have to be Kilorn (Mare’s best friend), as I thought he was a really interesting character and was how the whole book developed and she was trying to save him. I thought he was really brave and was a good addition to the book so she could have someone from home (as he is a red) as a constant in the story, however you don’t hear about him that much.

I thought the ending however was SO GOOD, and it was so unexpected and went against everything I was hoping for which is what made it so good. I can’t give away any spoilers but I think the end perfectly set up for the next book and I am so excited to read the next one.

Stars: 5/5

15708025._SX540_.jpg

6 comments

  1. I have seen this book around for so long and in so many blogs and in Goodreads but I never actually like stopped to read the synopsis or anything until Friday and I liked it!
    I think I got influenced by a comment saying the book was “Meh”, but I think that I might give it a try at some point!

    Thank you for sharing! I hope you could keep an eye on my blog! I am totally keeping on on yours! :3

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

