Book Review – Fangirl, Rainbow Rowell

Zoe: Hey guys, we are back today with a joint review on Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

image1.JPGCath and Wren are identical twins and until recently they did absolutely everything together. Now they’re off to university and Wren’s decided she doesn’t want to be one half of a pair anymore – she wants to dance, meet boys, go to parties and let loose. It’s not so easy for Cath. She would rather bury herself in the fanfiction she writes where there is romance far more intense than anything she has experienced in real life. 

Now Cath has to decide wether she’s ready to open her heart to new people and new experiences, and she’s realising that there is more to learn about love than she ever thought possible…

Annike: I read this book a number of years ago for the first time and I thought it was excellent. The book is funny but serious at the same time. It has amazing characters that were well developed, and I absolutely LOVED Cath and Levi together! 🙂

Zoe: On the other hand, I didn’t think this book was as good as I was expecting. I struggled to get into the characters because there wasn’t that much happening, but I liked the plot and how it developed through the book and agree with Annike about Cath and Levi. 

Annike: In short, the book really follows Cath who is struggling coming to terms with separating from her twin sister and attending university with none of that safety from home. Cath’s roommate (Reagan) had me laughing a lot, the dialogue was snarky but very realistic.  I loved that the book was about twins (like us), and although Cath and Wren weren’t speaking for the majority of the book, their relationship was something very intriguing. 

“To really be a nerd, she’d decided, you had to prefer fictional worlds to the real one.” 

Zoe: One of the stranger reasons why I couldn’t get on board with this book was the characters themselves. On the cover of the book the characters are cartoon, so I couldn’t picture them as real characters and it really distracted me from the book and the characters themselves as I couldn’t really relate to any of them.

Annike: Unlike Zoe’s weird cartoon character problems with this book, the only part of the book I wasn’t really interested in was the actual Fanfiction part. And guiltily I ended up skipping a lot of the parts where Cath’s fanfiction was being read. But all in all I have read this book like half a dozen times now and I never get bored of it!

Zoe: I think I might be being a bit harsh on this book. I think it was well written and a very unique and cute storyline. I would recommend this to girls aged 12-16 and anyone who likes romance fiction or coming of age books. 

Rating:

Zoe: 3/5

Annike: 4.5/5

Leave a Reply

