The 5th Wave and The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey

Hey, it’s Annike, I read The Fifth Wave by Rick Yancey earlier this year and the Infinite Sea (which is the second book) a couple days ago. I wanted to review them because of how amazing, and I mean, AMAZING they both were. I strongly recommend these books to everyone simply because they have to be some of my favourite books of all time! 🙂

The Fifth Wave follows Cassie, who against all odds has survived 4 waves, meant to exterminate the human race caused by ‘The Others’. The Others are a race of aliens that have come looking for a planet. Alone, thinking she is the last human on Earth, Cassie finds Evan who might be her only chance to save her brother and herself. ~ 4.5/5 stars

The Infinite Sea then follows Cassie, her brother and several young survivors. The book focuses mostly on the group of them avoiding The Others and fighting for their survival against all odds. ~5/5 stars

The Fifth Wave being the first book of the trilogy really establishes the main character of Cassie. It brings out her human side, the side before everything went to hell.

giphy-1.gif

The book really developed Cassie as a character who had to change in order to adjust in such a dangerous world.  As well as Cassie there was the perspective of Ben Parish, Cassie’s high school crush, where that sense of change in order to survive was really evident. The relationship between Cassie and her brother was one that I really loved, because Cassie found someone she was willing to die for, which was what ‘The Others’ wanted to get rid of; that love and hope. 

“How do you rid the Earth of humans? Rid the humans of their humanity.”

 Another character that was really brought to life during this book was the character of Evan who ended up saving Cassie numerous times. Cassie’s response to this help really annoyed me because she was completely ungrateful and rude to Evan. It was one of the things that made me not like Cassie as much as I could have. The whole book had a great drive to it though, and it was so captivating.

Then came The Infinite Sea. This book absolutely blew me away. Unusually, I actually thought that this book was better than the original one. What I did miss in this book was the exerts from before the 1st wave, that pieced together Cassie as someone before ‘The Others’. Because most of that had already been established it wasn’t necessary but I did like it. We did get 2 short chapters from Poundcake (A boy from Ben’s crew) that developed a character who I wasn’t really that fussed about, into someone that I respected. This book has such an amazing writing style. The language is so empowering and strong. There were lines in the book that I read over and over simply because I thought they were so perfect.

“This isn’t about ripping the planet away from us, Ben. This is about ripping us.”


17d04310cdfd1bed24ecbacee0bc7172What I didn’t like so much in this book was firstly, the character of Sam. In the first book Sam is so young and sweet, and while I did understand that he had been through so much, it bothered me that Cassie came all the way back for him, and he was rude and angry for most of the book. I also did find the end of the book rather confusing. I had trouble grasping onto Ringer’s situation and it confused me, maybe that was just because I didn’t read thoroughly enough or something but I was genuinely puzzled.

Despite the faults, I was so impressed with both books and can’t wait for the third one.

” That’s the cost. That’s the price. Get ready, because when you crush the humanity out of humans, you’re left with humans with no humanity.”

5th-wave-chloe-moretz-turning

 

6 comments

Leave a Reply

